I mean, I know there’s a lot of history –

1,600-year-old Roman coffin unearthed in London

“LONDON, England (AP) — Archaeologists discovered a rare Roman sarcophagus containing a headless skeleton at the site of London’s historic St. Martin-in-the-Fields church, authorities said Friday.

The limestone coffin dates to about A.D. 410 and was 10 feet below the grounds of St. Martin-in-the-Fields near Central London’s busy Trafalgar Square…”

One of the things that fascinates me about travel is the sheer magnitude of the lives that have come before me in any given place. Why the life of someone 1500 years ago holds more interest for me than a modern one, I don’t know – they were people just like us. But I marvel as I wander through ancient cities, thinking of the dramas that unfolded under my feet.

St. Martin-in-the-Fields was already an interesting and historic place, but what’s amazing to me is discoveries like this still take place. History isn’t static. More pieces of the puzzle are found all the time, helping us make a picture the poeople that came before us.

I really need to go get our brass rubbings framed. The story behind them just got a little more interesting.

Leave a Reply

