24 hours in İstanbul | Part VI

Entrance to Topkapi Palace, Istanbul

As we walked over to Topkapı Palace from the Blue Mosque, Yosef again mentioned the ceramic shop he wanted to take us to. I wasn’t keen on this idea — we had only a few more hours left in the city and I was far more interested in visiting the home of the Ottoman sultans from the 15th to 19th centuries than I was in a sales pitch. Too polite (or stupid) to protest as vigorously as I wanted to, I nodded or hmmmmed or some such nonsense and went on with my questions about the history of İstanbul . Reading a trashy historical novel about Süleyman the Magnificent and his scheming wife Hürrem Sultan (Roxolana) before we left had shed a lot of light for me on the lives of the Ottoman elite. Yosef was impressed with my knowledge. I did not divulge where it came from.

Entering the gates of Topkapı Palace was one of those travel moments that seems to cause seismic quakes of clashing realities in my mind. It’s just me standing there, just my 2007 self, transported here by plane, vehicle, ship and foot. But I’m standing in a place that was the home of a series of men titled:

Sultan Hân N.N., Padishah, Hünkar, Hakan ül-Berreyn vel-Bahreyn; Sovereign of the House of Osman, Sultan of Sultans, Khan of Khans, Commander (Caliph) of the Faithful and Successor of the Prophet of the Lord of the Universe,Servant of the Holy Cities of Mecca, Medina and Jerusalem, Caesar of the Roman Empire, Emperor of The Three Cities of Constantinople, Adrianople and Bursa, and of the Cities of Damascus and Cairo [and any number of additional cities, regions, countries, islands and castles].

500 years ago, had I stood here as a Christian woman I would entered as a slave. My greatest hope may have been to catch the Sultan’s eye and maybe give him a son, thus becoming Valide Sultan, the mother of a ruling sultan — possibly the most important position in the Ottoman Empire after the sultan himself. This would have been difficult to say the least, as I would have had competition from hundreds of other women in the harem.

But I was neither a slave nor hoping to find favor with the Sultan. I was merely one of hordes of tourists trampling the historic grounds. It’s hard sometimes, to reconcile the here-and-now with the what-used-to-be.

Topkapi Palace | IstabulYosef led us around the grounds, dropping us outside the various wings and quarters. I hadn’t known ahead of time that guides are not permitted to go into certain areas with their charges, in order to not disturb the more independent travelers with their commentary. We traipsed around the great kitchens which once fed 5,000 people a day, the treasury (with a few moments to gaze at the famed diamond and emerald encrusted Topkapi Dagger, the 86-caret Spoon Maker’s Diamond and other fabulous jewels and relics), through the Gate of Felicity and into the Divan, where the Sultan’s viziers met and debated the politics of the empire. The Sultan could listen in, hidden, from behind a gilded grill.

To my distress we couldn’t visit the harem. I mistakenly thought the harem, which can only be visited by pre-arranged reservations that didn’t work with our time frame, was only a few rooms that the concubines and the their guard eunuchs lived in. Actually, though, it includes the living quarters of the Sulta and his mother, as well, and so many of the most fascinating rooms of the palace are in the harem.

In a ceramic shop in IstanbulOur tour continued on, taking in a few more sights, and all too soon Yosef steered us out of the palace grounds. “Isn’t there more to see?” I protested, knowing the guidebooks had recommended at least half a day to see the palace. “No,” he said firmly and guided us on out. As I feared, he took us to a ceramic shop and deposited us into a row of seats, where we were fed drinks and a pottery demonstration. I sat patiently as long as  I could, trying to balance respect for the art of the main in front of us with my growing fury at spending our precious dwindling time trapped in a store. When a tour group from Japan arrived and  Yosef ushered us out of the demonstration room, I handed my cup of apple tea to a store employee and told Brian and my friends *they* were welcome to shop but I was going to see some more of the city.

To my astonishment, Brian continued sipping his Turkish coffee and agreed to meet me at the hotel in 45 minutes and turned to follow Holly and Chas into the shopping area.

I set out, annoyance at our paid guide’s schem dissipating a bit when I encountered a rather unfortnately translated sign at a nearby restaurant advertising the availability of “A Rich Alcoholic Menu.” I consulted my little Lonely Planet Encounter Istanbul book, located myself on the map, and decided to have a look at the Hippodrome.

Two columns still stand from the ancient chariot racing ring, also the site of a massacre during the Nika Revolt which resulted in the death of some 30,000 to 40,000 people. Four bronze horses once crowned this site. The horses now stand inside St. Mark’s Basilica in Venice. We saw the originals (the ones outside are replicas) inside the basilica last spring.

hippodromeToday the former Hippodrome is a peaceful park. I wandered along the street, wondering how best to manage lunch on the maybe seven lire I had on my person. I walked back towards our hotel, fairly pleased with my escape from the shop, and still wondering that Brian had not taken the chance to bolt from the sales pitch with me. I stopped at a street vendor at the entrance the the small bazaar near our hotel and purchased a sandwich on “Turkish flat bread,” otherwise known as pita. I munched as I strolled through the bazaar, becoming increasingly more self-conscious as the male shopkeepers each wished me Bon Appetit as I passed.

I wandered slowly back to our hotel, thinking  myself early, and walked into the lobby to find Brian, lathered and tightlipped, looking as if he might have intestinal distress. It would seem he was worried about me, having come to a certain realization that I was wandering alone in a rather large and foreign city. Not thinking about the number of other large and foreign cities I’ve walked alone in he worked himself into quite a state. I sheepishly continued to munch my sandwich, feeling my travel companions may have found my desertion untoward.

But our time was up. Our 24 hours in Istanbul were concluded. We piled with Yosef into a van and a driver and returned to our ship. Sad, exhilirated and intrigued by our too-brief visit, I determined it would not be the last visit.

And it won’t.

4 responses to “24 hours in İstanbul | Part VI

  1. Hi. What a wonderful place. We were able to enter the harem without reservations etc. May 2007. It was extra to the tour we were on and we had to hurry. I will always remember it and I am sorry that you missed it.

    We missed the jewels as they had trouble with the entry door and would not let us in.

  2. Re: Past Present Future tense of the word drag

    I was really astonished to read the word “drug” when the meaning was “dragged”. Being English, I checked Google for an American ruling on that usage. Below find the correct American usage.

    “A drug is a drug is a drug. Noun or verb. But nothing to do with dragging.

    Your friend dragged the stuff home. He might have drugged himself after that.”

    Another result is from WordReference.com:
    I’d say that “dragged” is correct. Merriam-Webster (online dictionary) says that the inflected form of the verb to drag is “dragged”.
    Furthermore the only mentioning of a verb form is to drug (to affect something with a drug), so my conclusion is that “dragged” is the only correct form.

  3. I truly love your website.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself? Please
    reply back as I’m trying to create my very own site
    and would like to find out where you got this from or what
    the theme is called. Cheers!|
    Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this post
    to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a great read.
    Thanks for sharing!|
    Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and
    design. Wonderful choice of colors!|
    There is definately a great deal to learn about this issue.

    I really like all the points you have made.|
    You’ve made some good points there. I looked on the web to learn more about the issue
    and found most people will go along with your views
    on this web site.|
    What’s up, I check your blog daily. Your story-telling style is
    witty, keep it up!|
    I simply couldn’t depart your web site prior
    to suggesting that I really loved the standard information an individual supply to your guests?
    Is going to be again continuously in order to
    check up on new posts|
    I need to to thank you for this great read!! I definitely loved every bit of it.
    I have got you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…|
    Hi, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this blog post. It was practical.
    Keep on posting!|
    I leave a response each time I especially enjoy a post on a site or I have something to valuable to
    contribute to the discussion. Usually it is a result of the
    fire displayed in the post I read. And after this post Queen Of
    Charms |. I was actually excited enough to post a thought I
    actually do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it just me or does it seem like a few of the comments appear
    like they are written by brain dead folks? And, if you are writing at
    additional social sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have to post.

    Could you make a list every one of all your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page
    or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

