Back in the land of the living [hatching plans]

Blogging in earnest will commence again soon now that I’m off the couch and off the meds. Never, *ever* do I want to go through a week like that again! For now I’m happy to be upright, have returned to work, and am beginning to dream of my first-ever solo trip.

I first have to back up a bit. My most recent dreams were of Brian working for an airline, scoring free flights. A delightful dream that was, but when a job offer presented itself that would, oh marvelous day, allow us to *buy* airline tickets when we want to go somewhere, we hauled ourselves into the world of being grownups, where 401ks and dental plans factor heavily, and he signed on.

He’s still going to travel for work, though hopefully in shorter spurts than his previous work (those 12 weeks he spent in Chicago in 2004 felt like half a lifetime), and will work in an office locally when he’s not on the road. The bright side to the travel is, as always, points and miles.

And miles brings us nicely back to my solo trip. I need only 10,000 more Delta miles to book one ticket to Paris early next year. The *huge* drawback to Brian’s new job is that he has no vacation time for the entire first year. Welcome to the barbaric corporate world, my little friend.

Self portrait--taking a break outside the Louvre on My Day Alone in ParisMy options for next year then are to: not go anywhere, travel with other family or friends, or travel alone. Surprisingly, I just don’t know that many people who would, when it comes right down to it, go to Paris (though I’m working on Holly). And we all know I’m not sitting tight for a year. So I’ll give it a go on my own. Paris seems the only choice — I know it better than anywhere else we’ve visited, I can get by in French. And it’s Paris!

Preparing for solo travel is going to be very different from my past experiences. The sad part is having noone to share in my giddy anticipation. Looks like it’s just you and me, dear reader. À bientôt!

3 responses to “Back in the land of the living [hatching plans]

  1. Glad you’re feeling better and back to blogging. *First* solo trip? Wow! I never knew. You always seemed like one who had done the solo adventures.

    Solo adventures are never lonely though! Paris will be filled with new people to meet. I’m excited for you.

  2. If you want to see a friendly face on your solo travels, we have a spare room in our London pad which is also just 2 hours away from Paris on the Eurostar – now a feasable day trip!

Leave a Reply

