Do we look like we know what we’re doing?

Which way do we go?I signed last year to run a local “lifelong learning” class on planning a trip to Europe. The required number of participants didn’t register so it was a no-go. I got the word yesterday though — I have a grand total of six students for my February class, Traveling in Europe – What You Need to Know.

Class starts Feb 6. I have no curriculum as such because I didn’t know if I’d have enough students to run the class. I have 4 nights, 1 and 1/2 hour per night to help people going to Europe for the first time avoid scenarios from National Lampoon European Vacation or If it’s Tuesday this must be Belgium. (Then again, the more disastrous the travel adventure, the better the story when they get home. )

How, oh how, do I squash all the learning from all the mistakes I’ve made into their  travel-happy brains? Does anyone ever really listen when others say: Don’t make the same mistake I did? Well, they should if they don’t want to end up missing trains, getting kicked out of hotels, or wandering around Budapest lost and ahem, under the influence of absinthe, at 4 a.m.

I’d better get busy on my curriculum.

Leave a Reply

