The Marrakesh Express


Photo by vtveen.

I like to have a song that goes with an upcoming trip. Istanbul was an easy one — Magic Carpet Ride.  An October trip a few years ago was “Wake Me Up When September Ends.”

I have my song for my very-hoped-for next trip.

Wouldn’t you know we’re riding on the Marrakesh Express
Wouldn’t you know we’re riding on the Marrakesh Express
They’re taking me to Marrakesh
All aboard the train, all aboard the train

I’ve been saving all my money just to take you there

(the incomparable Crosby, Stills & Nash)

I will be playing this a lot in the coming months, alternating between excitement at “All aboard the train” and determination at “I’ve been saving all my money just to take you there.” I read a quote today that is no more than common sense, but struck a chord.

Discipline is remembering what you really want. (David Campbell)

I really want to go to Morocco. I really want to get on board the train. (Never mind that we’d be flying from Barcelona.)

Do I want it more than I want to eat sushi every week? Easy to say yes now. Remembering that I want some intangible experience months away when I’m tempted to pull out the debit card for some salmon sashimi will be hard. It’s the over and over remembering what I want that will make it possible. Do I remember I want it when I sigh that we “need” a new dishwasher? When I think about upgrading our camera?

Airfare is astronomical these days. We haven’t enough miles to get there so we’ll be paying real money for the fare. But I know we can do this. We didn’t use miles or free hotel points on our first trip of 25 days in 2001. And Brian was a waiter then, and I was at my first job out of college. I remember our savings chart, a hokey little printout of the Eiffel Tower with our savings goal at the top. For 14 months I charted our progress. It helped me remember what I wanted. Now I do the same thing with a Google docs spreadsheet.

Maybe it’s time to go retro and hang something on my refrigerator to help me remember what I really want.

Leave a Reply

