Czech and Slovakia in photos

In going back to work – both the full-time job and the writing work — after our trip I haven’t put any time into my own blog about our trip. (and a lot of it was covered in short bursts on Twitter, anyway.)

But I do want to share some highlights in photos. I’m afraid my photo workshop instructor in Paris won’t be best pleased, as I didn’t take a lot of time to work on each shot. As a result, I’m not especially pleased myself with any of them. But in my defense, it was COLD and the mitten/glove things I thought would be so great were a bit of a pain.

We had a long layover in Amsterdam on the way over. Long enough to take the wrong train into the city, walk a bit, buy a coat (since I forgot mine!) and have some sandwiches for Thanksgiving lunch.

Biker in Amsterdam

One of Prague’s nicknames is the Golden City, and waking on our first morning, it was clear why — the rising sun cast a golden glow upon the city. This was the view from our room where we spent our first night before heading right to Slovakia.

Golden morning light in Prague

Golden morning light in Prague

The whole trip was built around visiting Brian’s family in Slovakia, so we spent the night with them, and gathered for a quick snapshot all together the next day before we left.

Brian's family in Slovakia

Brian's family in Slovakia

We did a bit of looking around the village of Bytca, where Brian’s grandfather had come from. I think this building, a former prison, is used for some archives now. The family felt bad that we were there during winter, and bad weather, but I found the gloomy skies beautiful in a way.

Winter day in Bytca

Winter day in Bytca

The weather improved (though it was still cold) when we arrived in the fairytale village of Cesky Krumlov.

Cesky Krumlov -  castle

Cesky Krumlov - castle

Busy Cesky Krumlov chimneys in the morning

Busy Cesky Krumlov chimneys in the morning

My favorite part of Cesky Krumlov was the Christmas market in the square. The vendors gave samples of their fried potato crisps to tempt kids.

Cesky Krumlov Christmas market

Cesky Krumlov Christmas market

One morning we climbed up above the village to the Chapel on the Mountain of the Cross.

Chapel on the Mountain of the Cross

Chapel on the Mountain of the Cross

And it seems I’m out of time, so Prague photos to come. And here’s a video of the Christmas tree lighting ceremony in Cesky Krumlov.

Leave a Reply

