The city of angels, the great city, the residence of the Emerald Buddha, the impregnable city (of Ayutthaya) of God Indra, the grand capital of the world endowed with nine precious gems, the happy city, abounding in an enormous Royal Palace that resembles the heavenly abode where reigns the reincarnated God, a city given by Indra and built by Vishnukarn

Bangkok. Siam. Krung Thep Maha Nakhon. กรุงเทพมหานคร

Bangkok Floating Market

Bangkok Floating Market by Intrepid Flame, on Flickr

Whatever you call it, it’s calling my name. Travel is as relentless a pull as an especially wicked drug, one that the user develops a tolerance for.  A jaunt to London may fill the need at first,then Paris, then something more exotic like St. Petersburg, progressing to Istanbul and Morocco, until perfectly lovely destinations like Spain (sorry, it’s not you, it’s me) just don’t ring my bell.

I want to plunge into a culture so different and so far away that I won’t even know what hit me. That’s why my ‘look there’s a butterfly’ travel planning style has me reshelving the Barcelona books and seeking out everything I can find out about Thailand.

Even the full name of Bangkok is a story, a melodious over-the-top title that makes me think of the Wizard of Oz or Narnia or Harry Potter.

I flat out clapped, and then rewound and replayed, when I saw this segment on Anthony Bourdain’s Bangkok episode. I can’t wait to visit, in real life, the kind of place where something like this is just an everyday event.

2 responses to “The city of angels, the great city, the residence of the Emerald Buddha, the impregnable city (of Ayutthaya) of God Indra, the grand capital of the world endowed with nine precious gems, the happy city, abounding in an enormous Royal Palace that resembles the heavenly abode where reigns the reincarnated God, a city given by Indra and built by Vishnukarn

  1. I found Thailand to be the easiest place I’ve ever travelled. It’s harder to find someone who DOESN’T speak English than someone who does.

    It was awesome though.

Leave a Reply

